Diary Entry# 11/11/11 – Remembrance Day

Hello all

Its the 11/11/11 and Remembrance Day. A day to remember those who have died and have made it possible for you to be here and live the life you live today. This time of year is particularly special and sad for me as it was my late Grandfathers birthday on Tuesday the 8/11. I often think of him, but this Tuesday morning I just burst into tears. I was thinking about how much he sacrificed and worked so hard for his family. He never wanted to leave Jamaica but came here and worked long shifts for British Rail. He and my Grandmother were able to buy their own home and provide my Mum, Aunty and Uncles with a good life. He wasn’t always talkative but I remember his bellowing voice embezzled with his Jamaican accent. I remember how he never actually called me by my actual name but by my nickname he gave me; that now everyone uses. I remember how he would put me on his knee when he came home from work and bounce his leg up and down before he went for his smoke. I remember if me and my cousins tried to sneak in the kitchen when he was smoking he would flash his lighter up and we would run away only to try again 2seconds later. I rememeber my tears when he moved back to Jamaica to fufill his dream to go back home, I remember My mum telling me how proud he was when she went to University and how hard he always worked. I remember everyone called you Doctor because you could fix anything. I remember your funeral in Jamaica. I remember our tears.

I think it hit me more this week as I was thinking about how my Grandma is already planning to come to England from Jamaica for my graduation in July and even though you are part of the reason I am here studying; you won’t be here to see me graduate. Grandad I know  you are always with me I just want to let you know that I miss you and I still remember you.

Everyone is doing well, I know that makes you smile I will always Love you.

Kisses

From your Granbaby

Never forget

2 thoughts on “Diary Entry# 11/11/11 – Remembrance Day

Leave a comment